The Dead Goldfish Ensemble / Fishy Tails
Janet Sherbourne & Mark Lockett
Walks Abroad
Cassette Tape
March 2022
Practical Music – Pr.4, conatala, All Night Flight


Side A
1. Lazy House
2. Mythical Stomp
3. El Cubana De Ronda
4. Blue Grey Blues
5. Sea Song
6. French Film Piece

Side B
1. Cat's Paw
2. Intermezzo
3. Take It From Me
4. Savannah
5. Durango

英国の音楽家Janet Sherbourneと鍵盤奏者Mark Lockettが、1987年に自主レーベルPractical Musicから発表したカセットテープ作品「Walks Abroad」をconatalaとイギリスのAll Night Flightの共同企画にて当時のフォーマットで復刻します。

Janet Sherbourneは、Brian Enoによる伝説の実験音楽レーベルObscureに残されたJohn Cageと、夫であるJan SteeleのカップリングLPにヴォーカルとして参加。そのJan Steeleを中心としたZiz! EnsembleやMetalworksというコンテンポラリー・ガムラン楽団や、近年はCafecitoというラテン・グループを率いています。

コンテンポラリーを軸に、ミニマル・ミュージック、ラテンジャズ、シンセポップ、ガムランにまで軽やかにジャンルをまたがる彼女の作品たちは、80年代から現代に至るまで自主レーベルPractical MusicからカセットテープやLP、7inchでリリースされています。

pianola recordsでは2020年のオープン当初から、彼女から譲ってもらった各種デッドストックの販売を続けてきましたが、1987年の本作は彼女も販売用の在庫は所有していませんでした。

本作は、1986年「Slower Than Molasses」と1990年「Café Olé」でのコラボレーターであるMark Lockettと彼女がそれぞれ6曲ずつ作曲。花の咲くような美しいアコーディオンのパターン、ピアノやシンセによる静謐なナンバー、クリスタルのように輝くDX7の音色、スキップするリズムマシン、Janetによる透き通ったヴォーカルによって奏でられる不思議なサロン・ミュージック。

As discussed elsewhere here, Janet Sherbourne is a total cult artist, talked about in hushed tones by music obsessives from Tokyo to Portland to Stockport.

Her work across late night art-ballads, systems music, gamelan, latin jazz and synth pop has appeared in fits and starts from the 80s till now on various privately issued tapes LPs and sevens. On this tape from 1987 she joins regular collaborator Mark Lockett for a slightly more jazz-oriented set.

The whole thing brings to mind a DIY take on the 80s Norma Winstone sides on ECM or perhaps the oddball ambient cabaret of Freestyle by Karin Krog. That being said, this really couldn’t be anyone else, all the singular weirdness and charm of her previous projects is still very much in evidence.

The dead-calm, blossoming accordion patterns on the first track Lazy Haze are a stunning start. From there a palette is established: Satie-esque piano, glassy DX7, skippy electronic drums, more of that accordion and Janet’s driven-snow vocals.

Possibly it's my age, but fm synthesis, drum machines with their controls set to jazz and subtly weird cod-American-songbook lyrics awaken something in me. The residue of a memory of the house bands of Wogan or Pebble Mill at One, of pastel sets and plastic jewellery, of absorbing the bad vibes of my friend’s mum’s messy divorce, of Ghostwatch.

Whatever it is, this tape lands me straight in a very particular strand of warped late-80s English hyper-reality that lurks at the base of my brain and I can’t get enough. Regardless of my own particular aesthetic quirks, as more of her catalogue becomes available, and more facets of her music present themselves, it becomes abundantly clear Janet is a true original..