Pale Cocoon
繭 (Mayu)
2LP vinyl, CD, digital
Late May 2020(1st press)
conatala (conatala-001), Incidental Music (INC004)

2,800yen(2LP), 1,500yen(CD)


1. Sora
2. Shunmin
3. Musoukyoku
4. Mizutamari
5. Onshitsu
6. Kumoatsume
7. Toy Box
8. Laboratory under the Bluesky
9. Room=Manhole
10. Automatic Doll
11. Microscorp

1980年代初頭、Pale Cocoonのメンバーである川端強は、富山でアルバム作曲中、繭から飛び出すような鮮やかなイメージを持っていた。自宅のスタジオにある4トラックレコーダーでの作曲から、より大きなスタジオに移り、Pafe Recordからリリースしている他のミュージシャンらの助けを借りて楽曲をアレンジ。オープンリールに変換し、Pale Cocoonのフル・アルバム『繭』を完成させた。


そのようにして、自然の音を模した音楽表現が散りばめられた『繭』のサウンドスケープが生まれた。アルバム1曲目を飾る「Sora」は、彼らの内省的な世界への扉として機能している。 リコーダーの目まぐるしい旋風から、恍惚としたギターやシンセサイザーへと変化する様は、WooやCluster、Penguin Café Orchestraの多幸感を想起させる。

次の曲「Shunmin」では『繭』の幻覚へと深く入り込み、エフェクト処理されたアコースティックギターと、コズミックなキーボードアレンジを先導する催眠的なドラムマシン・プログラミングがゆらめくような雰囲気を作り出している。Cherry Red RecordsやThe Durutti Columnのようにドリーミーなポストパンクの影響が感じられるかもしれない-(The Durutti Columnは1984年の日本ツアー中にPale Cocoonと同じステージに立っている)が、しかし、この作品は間違いなく川端の特異なビジョンであり、製作者たち(同郷・富山のオリジナルリリース元であるPafe Recordと、本作での演奏にも参加した同レーベルに所属するグループFuneral PartyとVirgin Mayonnaise)の原風景に通じている。

conatalaとIncidental Musicは、1984年にPafe Recordsからオリジナル・カセットがリリースされて以来、初となる『繭』のレコード再発を発表できることを嬉しく思っています。リマスタリングは大城真。レコードは2枚組仕様、CD版、デジタル版と併せて2020年5月中旬発売予定。

  • 本作品はconatalaとIncidental Musicによる共同プロジェクトです。
  • 2020年5月下旬発売予定
  • pianola records、Incidental Musicでご購入頂いた方に限り、オリジナル・カセット作品に付属されていたブックレットの復刻版を差し上げます。先着100枚限定。⇒ 先着分終了致しました
  • digital音源の発売日はレコード/CDと同日です。(Incidental MusicのBandcampページより)
  • 当ウェブサイト掲載商品は、pianola records(別サイト)でのご購入となります。

In the early 1980s, Pale Cocoon member Tsuyoshi Kawabata received the vivid image of springing forth from a cocoon as he was composing music in his hometown of Toyama, Japan. Having spent time arranging sounds on a 4-track recorder in the musical chrysalis of his home studio, Kawabata moved to a larger studio and converted his recordings to an open reel with the help of other musicians on the Pafe Record roster, leading to the musical metamorphosis of his full-length work 繭 (Mayu).

Like the Belgian symbolist paintings that served as inspiration during Kawabata’s musical process - the compositions featured on Mayu serve to elevate the nuanced elements of daily life, each sound intentionally crafted with a meticulous approach to best represent its objective nature. Sounds of the Japanese landscape in summertime parallel swirling synthesizers and noise; shimmering guitar sounds take the shape of a snowflake. In this way, Kawabata’s pure reflection on the objective nature of sounds evokes the deeper spiritual essence of their origins - taking on a symbolic role in order to elucidate a greater psychic nature… or as French poet Stéphane Mallarmé writes, “to depict not the thing but the effect it produces”.

The result is a musical soundscape evocative of Kawabata’s hometown of Toyama - a collection of compositions with inherent seasonality in their arrangement, mirroring the landscapes along the sea of Japan. The album opener “Sora” acts as a portal into Kawabata’s world, segueing from a dizzying whirlwind of processed recorder into an ecstatic atmosphere of guitar and synthesizer invoking the likes of Woo, Cluster, and the euphoric stylings of Penguin Café Orchestra. The next piece, “Shunmin”, waltzes deeper into Mayu’s fever dream, creating a gorgeous atmosphere with hypnotic drum machine programming leading a chorus of processed acoustic guitar and cosmic keyboard arrangements. At times, the listener may hear the dreamy post-punk influence of Cherry Red Records and peers The Durutti Column throughout Mayu - a group whom Pale Cocoon shared the stage with during their Japan tour of 1984. However, the album itself is undoubtedly the singular vision of Kawabata, informed by the musical landscape of Toyama - the same environs which fostered the sounds of Pale Cocoon’s label Pafe Record and fellow groups Funeral Party and Virgin Mayonnaise who perform on Mayu.

Conatala and Incidental Music are proud to present Mayu, remastered by Makoto Ohshiro and published for the first time on vinyl since its original cassette release on Pafe Record in 1984. Mayu will be available on 2LP vinyl pressed by Pallas, CD, and digital formats in mid May, 2020.

  • Collaborative release between conatala (Japan) and Incidental Music (USA).
  • To be released in late-May 2020
  • Only those who purchased at pianola records and Incidental Music will receive a reprint of the booklet attached to the original cassette work. Limited to the first 100 copies.⇒ Sold out
  • The release date of the digital sound source is the same date as the record / CD. (From Incidental Music Bandcamp page)
  • All products on conatala are purchased at pianola records.