The Dead Goldfish Ensemble / Fishy Tails
The Dead Goldfish Ensemble
Podule - a collection of very rare and unreleased tracks from 1985-1994
Cassette Tape/Digital
June 2021
conatala tapes 01


Side A
1. Big Bear
2. Pounding
3. Divert
4. Pompey
5. Kland
6. Ensemble Tumbling
7. Ensemble In The Forest
8. 'Till The Dawn

Side B
1. Ensemble TV's Ill
2. Ensemble Nessie II
3. Talk Is Rash
4. On A Swing
5. Loop

80年代カセットテープ・カルチャーの混沌の中を孤独に泳いだ英国出身の箱庭電子ミニマリスト、The Dead Goldfish EnsembleことSteve Hartwell。1985年から1994年にかけて録音した未発表音源とレア音源をまとめた、前作「Fishy Tails」とは異なる全13曲を収録したコンピレーション・カセットテープ。

シーケンサーや元祖音楽製作コンピューターとも言えるMSXコンピューターを使用し、Steve ReichやPhilip Glassをはじめとするクラシックなミニマル・ミュージックの手法を自宅の録音環境に持ち込み、宅録スケールの創作の中で生み出した独自のポリリズミック・ミュージック。宅録ならではのテクスチャー、インディペンデント精神に基づく実験性、そして弾けるように無邪気な旋律と遊び心あふれるポリリズムは、空想世界の中で永遠に浮かび上がるメロディのよう。

  • 60分テープ
  • pianola recordsで購入の場合のみ、ダウンロードクーポンが付きます。
  • データ音源はBandcampから購入可能です。

Introducing a new compilation tape album of unreleased and rare recordings recorded from 1985 to 1994 from The Dead Goldfish Ensemble. All 13 songs are different from the previous work "Fishy Tails".

Using the MSX computer, which can be said to be the original music production computer, he brought classic minimal music techniques pioneered by Steve Reich and Philip Glass to the recording environment at home, and created a unique home recording style of polyrhythmic music. The texture unique to home recording, the experimentation based on the independent spirit, and the innocent melody that bounces to play with the playful polyrhythm are like melodies that float forever.

  • 60mins tape
  • Download code is included only purchasing from pianola records.
  • The digital release available on Bandcamp.